IMF Dvořák Prague Festival - 2021

Boris Giltburg, Pavel Haas Quartet

At the Dvořák Prague International Music Festival, a joint concert of the pianist Boris Giltburg and the Pavel Haas Quartet will feature chamber music by Antonín Dvořák and Robert Schumann.


All events



8:00 PM

Rudolfinum - Dvořákova síň

Praha 1

290 - 690 CZK



Together, the pianist Boris Giltburg (Israel) and the Pavel Haas Quartet (Czech Republic) create a perfect musical organism driven by their obsession with music, perfectionism, and feeling for details. In their case, prizes from the BBC Music Magazine, the journal Gramophone, and the Diapason d’Or are just trinkets commemorating the great results of their collective efforts.  

By bringing Giltburg and the Pavel Haas Quartet together, the Dvořák Prague Festival is doing much more – their combination confronts the festival’s foundations with its future orientation. After several years of orchestral works, the prestigious Dvořák Collection concert series is moving on to chamber music, and string quartets play a major role in that context. One can scarcely imagine a better ensemble than the Pavel Haas Quartet – Czech and foreign critics alike regard them as a truly elite representative of Dvořák’s music. At the same time, this means that the Dvořák Collection series will intersect with the Chamber Series, which has become enormously popular, and which sells out the Rudolfinum just as reliably as the world’s great orchestras do. This is surely thanks in part to the Chamber Series curators; this year Boris Giltburg will serve in that role.  

Last but not least, however, it is necessary to emphasise the intersecting of the music of Antonín Dvořák – Robert Schumann, which will be presented by the programme of the joint concert of Boris Giltburg and the Pavel Haas Quartet. Besides lieder, Dvořák regarded Schumann as being at his best when composing chamber music with piano. It is therefore logical that the two composers should be presented in the concentrated form of a programme combining piano with a chamber ensemble. 

Dress code: dark suit 


Antonín Dvořák                                                                                                                                             
Piano Trio No. 3 in F minor, Op. 65, B. 130                                                                                  

Robert Schumann                                                                                                                                  
Piano Quintet in E flat Major, Op. 44


BORIS GILTBURG  piano                                                                                                                             

Length 100 minutes
Wheelchair access
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Antonín Dvořák